What’s in a name?

The meanings of names is really important to me.  I feel like the meaning behind our names sets the tone for the life we have the potential to lead.  For example, my name, Kara, according to http://www.sheknows.com/baby-names/name/kara, means the following:

Kara

The name Kara is a baby girl name.

English Meaning:
The name Kara is an English baby name. In English the meaning of the name Kara is: Pure.

Greek Meaning:
The name Kara is a Greek baby name. In Greek the meaning of the name Kara is: Pure.

American Meaning:
The name Kara is an American baby name. In American the meaning of the name Kara is: Pure.

Scandinavian Meaning:
The name Kara is a Scandinavian baby name. In Scandinavian the meaning of the name Kara is: Abbreviation of Katherine. Pure.

Italian Meaning:
The name Kara is an Italian baby name. In Italian the meaning of the name Kara is: Dear, beloved. From the feminine form of Italian ‘cara’ or the Latin ‘carus’.

People with this name have a deep inner desire for love and companionship, and want to work with others to achieve peace and harmony.

People with this name tend to be orderly and dedicated to building their lives on a solid foundation of order and service. They value truth, justice, and discipline, and may be quick-tempered with those who do not. Their practical nature makes them good at managing and saving money, and at building things in the material world. Because of their focus on order and practicality, they may seem overly cautious and conservative at times.

My name means pure.  Though I am far from pure and the description of “people with this name tend to…” is totally off for me, I know it is something to strive toward.  Scripturally, I know God refines us, and His gift of Grace through the cross and the resurrection of Jesus purifies me.  The meaning of my name reminds me of my need for a savior, for THE SAVIOR.

So when my husband and I were courting, we of course had to name our 15 future children.  Only one name did we agree upon:  Zander.  Not Alexander or Alekzander, just Zander.  It is the abbreviation for Alekzander, though we gave him the abbreviation only for his name.  The name means “defender of man.”  I had goose bumps thinking about that, and the name “Ezekiel” came to me too.  My husband-to-be had been studying the book of Ezekiel for a while at this point.  Ezekiel means “by the strength of God.”  We weren’t married, we weren’t expecting a child, but we knew.  Some day, God would bring us together, we would have a son, and his name would be Zander Ezekiel, defender of man by the strength of God.  Poor kid.  He has a TON to live up to!

This means, Brandon and I have a ton to live up to also.  We have a ton to teach our child about love,  grace, mercy, forgiveness, justice, kindness, and humility.  We have a lot to teach him about leadership and service.  We know he will not always be willing to listen or learn from us, and we pray the the Lord will continue to bring strong, positive influences into his life.  He is so personable!  Whether our little boy grows into the calling WE intend for him, I know he will grow into the man of God our Creator intends him to be.  As his mother, I am excited (and worried as any mother would be) for what he will encounter, what he will experience, and who he becomes.  This child, only a dream when the Lord gave us his name, is now eleven months old and growing and learning so quickly!  Let the adventures continue!  Lord, may I raise this little man with grace and strength, wisdom and faith.

2 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

Leave a Reply

