The Food Werewolf (Chapter5 of Burnout, Chapter 4 of Made to Crave)

It never ceases to amaze me that when I read two books at the same time, the topics line up perfectly.  Lord, I know you are sovereign, even in the books I choose to read!

Lysa TerKeurst wrote about the need for accountability.  For her, she had a friend who had started the journey to health a while earlier, and had encouragement and support from that friend’s wisdom.  She also had a friend who started the journey with her.  With encouragement from ahead and accountability by her side, she found the road doable.  Yes there are challenges, and yes she struggled.  And she had friends to pick her up and keep her going. 

I have been sharing with my husband what I am reading in these books.  He too wants to walk this path of health with me, and I am so grateful for that!  We have the side-by-side accountability ready to go.  I also have some friends who have been successful in their own journey to health (a roommate from college, and my best friend from high school), so I am in communication with them.  I also started a group on facebook so we can share recipes, exercise techniques, support and encouragement.  We are also sharing our starting weight and inches.  I’ll share my numbers at the end of this blog entry too.

In Diabetes Burnout, the topic was The Werewolf Within.  With the best of intentions, we eat healthy all day long and feel good.  But then, we get home from work, or we start watching TV, or whatever, and find ourselves eating a huge bowl of popcorn, or a bag of mini-snickers, or a whole bag of gummy bears…Polonsky writes about multiple reasons for this very common phenomenon.  And its not just one diabetics face:  it just impacts us more prevalently.  Boredom with activity choices or even bored from eating “healthy” foods and following strict diet plans causes us to just dive into a bag of doritos without even thinking about it.  Emotional needs lead to consuming comfort foods.  Old habits of having snacks on hand for guests who rarely come create temptation impossible to resist.  

It goes back to accountability that Lysa talked about.  Make changes to keep snack foods to a minimum in the house, or at least out of site.  Polonsky even writes about scheduling a snack time and allowing a splurge of a cookie or sweet treat on occasion.  We don’t have to abandon everything 100%.  Moderation and planning is key.  

So I might still have a small Hershey’s Kiss once a day, or a scoop of ice cream when my throat is raw from coughing.  Portion sizes and communication with my accountability partners will be critical.  Increasing my water intake will probably help too.  As soon as this weather warms up, taking a walk each day will definitely go a long way!  So will not baking pumpkin bread when I am bored…

As promised, here are my before pics and starting numbers as I venture on this journey of health:

ImageImage

January 2, 2013

Weight:  215 lbs

Neck: 13.5 inches

Chest:  45.25 inches

Right Bicep:  13.5 inches

Left Bicep: 13.5 inches

Right Thigh:  24.5 inches

Left Thigh:  26 inches

Hips:  49 inches

Waist:  41.5 inches

January 2, 2013

Weight:  215 lbs

Neck: 13.5 inches

Chest:  45.25 inches

Right Bicep:  13.5 inches

Left Bicep: 13.5 inches

Right Thigh:  24.5 inches

Left Thigh:  26 inches

Hips:  49 inches

Waist:  41.5 inches

 

Leave a Reply

