“I was made for more…”

Reflecting on Chapter 5:  Made to Crave

Psalm 139 reminds me that God created me.  Starting at verse 13:

For you formed my inward parts;
you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.

God knows my days, ALL of them.

Lysa TerKeurst writes that in the face of temptation, she is reminded of these words:  “You were made for more than this.”  She whispers them over and over to herself, and finds the strength to overcome temptation, as small or as mighty as that temptation might be.  Temptations of food seem petty as compared to sexual temptations, or drugs, but still temptation.  His Word promises us, “13 No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.” (1 Cor 10:13)

Paul writes in Ephesians 1 “15 For this reason, because I have heard of your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love[f] toward all the saints, 16 I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers, 17 that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him, 18 having the eyes of your hearts enlightened, that you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, 19 and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe, according to the working of his great might 20 that he worked in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly places, 21 far above all rule and authority and power and dominion, and above every name that is named, not only in this age but also in the one to come. 22 And he put all things under his feet and gave him as head over all things to the church, 23 which is his body, the fullness of him who fills all in all.”

I quote this because Lysa uses it as a guideline for facing and overcoming temptation:

1.  Be Persistent:  “I do not cease to give thanks…”  Don’t be afraid to ask God to join us in this journey!  He never intended for us to walk alone.  He created us to be IN COMMUNITY!  We walk alongside each other, and He wants us to walk alongside Him as well.

2.  Embrace a True Identity:  Truth is, WE ARE HIS CHILDREN!  Claim that!  Own it!  HE created us!  He knit each and every one of us together in our mothers’ wombs.  He IS our Glorious Father!  Our past does not define us.  Illnesses we have do not define us.  Our identity is in CHRIST ALONE!  Give to Him all the baggage that you have from past and present, from broken relationships, from illness, fatigue, and burnout.  He can transform us, and create opportunities to heal, to bless others through our own pain.  Look up and reflect on these verses that Lysa shares:  Romans 3:24, Romans 8:1-2, 1 Corinthians 1:2, 1 Corinthians 1:30, 2 Corinthians 5:17, Ephesians 1:4, Ephesians 2:13, Ephesians 3:12, Romans 8:37.

Lysa writes, “I was made to be set free, holy, new, loved, and confident.  Because of this, I can’t allow myself to partake in anything that negates my true identity…The truth of my identity as a child of God empowers me to believe that living in victory tastes sweeter than any unhealthy delicacy.” (pg 40)

3.  Find the Deeper Reason:  everything we do draws us closer to HIM.  “So that we may know him better” gives purpose to our training, to our discipline.

4.  Discover a Hope and Power Like No Other:  Pray that our hearts and eyes will be open.  Open to the truth that we do not walk this path alone, to the truth that in our weakness, His power is made perfect.  I reflect a lot on 2 Corinthians 12.  We really cannot do this alone.  I am not strong enough to stand up to the taunting of temptation.  But my Savior is!  He BEAT Temptation with a STICK!   A cross, a grave, and a CONQUERING of DEATH!  So I will cling to Him in this journey, and proclaim His Power!

I was made for more.  I was made to be in the throne room of the King of Kings!

Chapter 6 of Diabetes Burnout paled in comparison to all this.  It was about taking my insulin regularly.  Hooray for me, I don’t have an issue (usually) in this area!  I felt victorious for a brief moment in time, until I saw the title of Chapter 7…check your blood sugar…

He is my strength.  He is my strength.  He is my strength.

 

************************************************

Add or Follow me: https://www.facebook.com/Karabear80

Join me here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/LetsDoThisTogether/

Get your Skinny on!

100% natural! NO wraps! NO shakes! NO fake food! NO hormones!!

Start here: http://KMiller80.sbcnewresolution.com

Leave a Reply

