Made to Crave (ch 9) and Diabetes Burnout (ch 10)

I hate to “exercise.”  It hurts.  I jostle too much, I get muscle cramps, I get winded.  I am so out of shape!  I hate to run.  I hate to lift free weights.

I go into this because Made to Crave Chapter 9 is about exercise.  Exercise has such a negative connotation for me.  Gross.  Unenjoyable.  Boring.  Frustrating.

However, I love to go dancing! I love to play tennis!  I love to play volleyball and badminton.  I love to go swimming!  I am ok with walking.  If I focus on ACTIVITY rather than EXERCISE, I think I would be more apt to get up off my butt and do something!  I just need to make it a priority.  Timing and time management is everything here.

I know by adding more activity to my daily routine, management of diabetes will improve greatly as well.  I know this.

Chapter 10 of Diabetes Burnout is about balancing the fear of complications with the “I’m invincible” mindset we tend to gain over the years.  Yes, the fears of facing kidney failure or losing my eyesight hovers in the shadows of my mind, rearing their ugly faces once in a while.  So do the thoughts, “I have been diabetic for 28 years and have no complications.  I’ll be fine!”  Neither of these mindsets are healthy.  A balance is necessary.  I am thankful (and beyond blessed) to have no complications thus far.  I also don’t want to put my God to the test.

Thus I am desiring to make changes.  I want to monitor my glucose levels and adjust my insulin dosages accordingly.  I want to get my weight under control so I am more confident in increasing my activity level.  I know my knees and hips will feel better as I increase activity and reduce weight.

I am working on overcoming the emotional baggage of poor self-image.  According to the numbers and my doctor, my BMI puts me in the “morbidly obese” category.  I don’t FEEL morbidly obese though.  Am I REALLY that overweight????  I can’t believe it!  I don’t WANT to believe it!  And yet, the proof is right there.

Even at my “ideal weight,” I think I still fall in the overweight category.  I don’t want to be “thin.”  I want to be healthy.  I want to have this diabetes in a “controlled” status.  I know all this will take time and that is why I am embarking on this journey to health.

Lysa TerKeurst wrote of how God brought her to Psalm 86.  I want to share that passage with you here:

Psalm 86

English Standard Version (ESV)

Great Is Your Steadfast Love

A Prayer of David.

86 Incline your ear, O Lord, and answer me,
for I am poor and needy.
Preserve my life, for I am godly;
save your servant, who trusts in you—you are my God.
Be gracious to me, O Lord,
for to you do I cry all the day.
Gladden the soul of your servant,
for to you, O Lord, do I lift up my soul.
For you, O Lord, are good and forgiving,
abounding in steadfast love to all who call upon you.
Give ear, O Lord, to my prayer;
listen to my plea for grace.
In the day of my trouble I call upon you,
for you answer me.

There is none like you among the gods, O Lord,
nor are there any works like yours.
All the nations you have made shall come
and worship before you, O Lord,
and shall glorify your name.
10 For you are great and do wondrous things;
you alone are God.
11 Teach me your way, O Lord,
that I may walk in your truth;
unite my heart to fear your name.
12 I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart,
and I will glorify your name forever.
13 For great is your steadfast love toward me;
you have delivered my soul from the depths of Sheol.

14 O God, insolent men have risen up against me;
a band of ruthless men seeks my life,
and they do not set you before them.
15 But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious,
slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.
16 Turn to me and be gracious to me;
give your strength to your servant,
and save the son of your maidservant.
17 Show me a sign of your favor,
that those who hate me may see and be put to shame
because you, Lord, have helped me and comforted me.

 

The Lord is my strength in this journey.  I do not walk this path alone, and in my weakness, HE is STRONG.  I cling to that truth each step of the way.  Join me in the journey, will you?

 

♥••*´¨`*•.☆• LetsDoThisTogether •☆.•*´¨`*••♥

Share to save to your timeline..

Join us here for more every day fun, tips, recipes, weight loss support & motivation

https://www.facebook.com/groups/LetsDoThisTogether/

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK – I am always posting awesome stuff!

https://www.facebook.com/Karabear80

http://KMiller80.SBC90.com

Leave a Reply

