Chapter 2 Reflections (Made to Crave)

Ch 2:  Replacing Cravings Reflection Questions

 

Lysa describes her morning ritual with the scale and her failed efforts to eat healthier as a vicious cycle she felt powerless to stop (page 28).  When it comes to your relationship with food, what repeated behaviors or events describe the cycle you experience and feel powerless to stop?

  • For me, it is all linked to having Type 1 Diabetes also.  I check my levels more frequently to get out of the burnout cycle, experience more lows when I am trying to be healthy, and end up eating cake, ice cream, peanut butter toast, huge glasses of milk…It seems like a losing battle.  I want to be healthy, and I need to balance that with the effect on my glucose levels.

 

There are many reasons we have for wanting to eat differently—losing weight, fitting into a favorite pair of jeans, looking food for an important event.  What reasons motivate your desire to eat healthier?  Do these reasons give your struggles with food a purpose strong enough to help you resist unhealthy eating?  How do you respond to Lysa’s statement, “I had to see the purpose of my struggle as something more than wearing smaller sizes and getting compliments form others…it had to be about something more than just me”?

  • I have lots of REASONS to lose weight and eat healthier:  my 1-year old son, my husband, my family, increasing my quality of life, honoring God in all that I do instead of just some of it…The key is to find motivation beyond just the reasons.  I am great at coming up with what I NEED to do, but terrible at actually doing it.

 

“I had to get honest enough to admit it:  I relied on food more than I relied on God.  I craved food more than I craved God.  Food was my comfort.  Food was my reward.  Food was my joy.  Food was what I turned to in times of stress, sadness, and even in times of happiness” (page 29).  Consider your eating experiences over the last few days or weeks.  Using the list below, can you recall specific situations in which you turned to food for these reasons?

    1. Comfort
    2. Reward:  A lot!  Oh, I have been good today, so I am going to eat cake!
    3. Joy:  My son’s first birthday was this week.  Thus, CAKE!!!!
    4. Stress
    5. Sadness
    6. Happiness:  See JOY.
    7. Keeping the same situations in mind, how do you imagine your experiences might have been different if you had relied on God, craved God, instead of turning to food?
  • In the past, I have definitely turned to food in times of stress and emotional turmoil.  I eat to celebrate, eat when I am depressed, when I am stressed, etc.  If I turned to God instead, who knows?  I might be lighter.  I might be stronger in my faith.  I might have a better A1C level.

 

How do you respond to the idea of using your cravings as a prompt to pray?  How has prayer helped or failed to help in your previous food battles?

  • I like the idea of it.  Now, to retrain my mind and heart to do this!  I am reminded of Romans 12:   A Living Sacrifice:  I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.  Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

 

Brick by brick (or craving by craving), Lysa dismantled her tower of impossibility and used the same bricks to build a walkway of prayer, paving the path to victory.  Brick by brick is an effective way to dismantle something but it also takes time and careful work.  In your battles with food, are you more likely to choose a drastic, quick-fix approach or a moderate but longer-term approach?  What thoughts or feelings emerge when you consider dismantling your own tower of impossibility one craving at a time?

  • The thought of this is overwhelming, and has been for some time.  I have known I need to make changes for at least a decade now, if not longer.  I finally am beginning to feel equipped to reach out, to seek support and accountability, and to make these changes for good.  I know now I cannot rely on my own strength to do this, nor can I do it alone.  I need the Lord, I need my family and friends.  A community of like-minded people can encourage and support each other, reminding each other that we are never alone on this journey.
2 thoughts on “Chapter 2 Reflections (Made to Crave)

Leave a Reply

