Diabetes Burnout (Ch 14) and Made to Crave (Ch 13)

The Diabetes Police can make life with diabetes so annoying and frustrating.  Thankfully, I have not had a ton of “policing,” but I do have a few people in my life who will come up and say, “Check your blood sugar” or “Should you be eating that?”  If I had more of this, I would lose my mind!

I say these things out of frustration for those of us with diabetes.  And, I can say with hindsight, that those members of the diabetes police in our lives say and do these things out of love and concern for us.  Perspective is everything.  They care and don’t know how to best support us in our daily battle.  So how can we keep our peace of mind and involve these people who love us in our self-care routines?

Polonsky gives the following suggestions on page 152:

  1. Start with a conversation.  My input here:  When I communicate, I have to be careful how I phrase my words.  I don’t want to come across as defensive.  “I statements” work well here.  Ask questions.  Give the other an opportunity to ask questions as well.
  2. Advertise your own self-care efforts.  Here, Polonsky encourages us not to hide our disease.  Openly share struggles, glucose monitoring, injections, medications, etc. at a level with which you are both comfortable.
  3. Help the diabetes police to be helpful in a different way.  This means to make suggestions and set boundaries regarding involvement.  In what areas do you need support?  Ask the people in your life to check in on these things.  My issue:  glucose monitoring.  I have asked my husband to help keep me accountable by asking me what my glucose levels are any time during the day.  He does this well.  I am also going to need encouragement in getting some physical activity but I am not quite mentally ready for that yet.  Working up to it…
  4. Clarify areas of responsibility (boundary setting).
  5. Take a good look in the mirror.  Polonsky encourages us to check our own attitudes.
  6. If nothing else works, get professional assistance.  Don’t be afraid of individual and group counseling sessions!  Even support groups!  Invite them to come with you.

One of the main causes of the intensity of diabetes policing is simple misunderstandings and lack of knowledge regarding diabetes.  Communicate through this!  One thing I am thankful for in my husband is his desire to understand this disease.  He asks great questions and wants to learn so much!  He knows the normal glucose level ranges, how to calculate my insulin dosages, how to give me an injection, how to check my glucose levels.  When I was on my insulin pump, he even learned how to take care of my infusion set sites, to replace an infusion set, and to set and prime the pump.

 

Chapter 13 of Made To Crave is called “Overindulgence.”  On page 101, Lysa writes, “Indeed, our souls are thirsty and ravenous vacuums.  If we fail to understand how to fill our souls with spiritual nourishment, we will forever be triggered to numb our longings with other temporary physical pleasures.”  This is not just limited to food!  We fill the empty void with drugs, sex, alcohol, cutting, sleep…the list goes on and on.

One of my favorite psalms is Psalm 42.  Take a moment to read it, letting the words sink into your soul..

Psalm 42

English Standard Version (ESV)

Book Two

Why Are You Cast Down, O My Soul?

To the choirmaster. A Maskil[a] of the Sons of Korah.

42 As a deer pants for flowing streams,
so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God,
for the living God.
When shall I come and appear before God?[b]
My tears have been my food
day and night,
while they say to me all the day long,
“Where is your God?”
These things I remember,
as I pour out my soul:
how I would go with the throng
and lead them in procession to the house of God
with glad shouts and songs of praise,
a multitude keeping festival.

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation[c] and my God.

My soul is cast down within me;
therefore I remember you
from the land of Jordan and of Hermon,
from Mount Mizar.
Deep calls to deep
at the roar of your waterfalls;
all your breakers and your waves
have gone over me.
By day the Lord commands his steadfast love,
and at night his song is with me,
a prayer to the God of my life.
I say to God, my rock:
“Why have you forgotten me?
Why do I go mourning
because of the oppression of the enemy?”
10 As with a deadly wound in my bones,
my adversaries taunt me,
while they say to me all the day long,
“Where is your God?”

11 Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation and my God.

 

These words speak to me deeply and remind me that even in my grief, despair, frustration, desire for food or anything else, God is with me.  He IS my HOPE and my SALVATION.  Lysa also mentions Lamentations 3:22-24 “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.  I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.'”

And so I will wait for Him.  I will learn to desire the Lord to fill the voids in my life when it seems only food (cake and ice cream) will do.  I do overindulge way to often:  on coffee, cake, candy, cereal, even apples and peanut butter.  And none of this is good for the diabetes, right?  See, it is all connected.  This battle has many fronts.  And by the grace of God, “we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” (Romans 8:37)

One thought on “Diabetes Burnout (Ch 14) and Made to Crave (Ch 13)

  1. Pingback: Emotional Triggers–Week 5 Blog Hop for Made To Crave | walkingfaithlearningtolove

Leave a Reply

