Made to Crave Ch 3 reflection questions

Chapter 3:

  1.  What thoughts, images, or emotions do you associate with the word plan?  Are you the kind of person who says, “I love it when a plan comes together!” or are you more likely to say, “Planschman, can’t we all just go with the flow?”
  • I like to have a general outline of what to expect, but I do enjoy the flow as well.  I know I function better when I am following a plan (i.e., when I am teaching, following a recipe, outlining my day, etc.) and I am also very good at procrastinating against that plan.  I have to learn to balance!
  1. Are there areas of your life in which having a plan works well for you?  For example, in your finances, for vacation trips, accomplishing daily tasks, reaching professional goals, reading through the Bible in a year.  In these areas of your life, does having a plan feel empowering or restrictive?  Do your feelings change when the plan is about food, what you will eat or not eat?
  • I am learning to plan better.  Plans work well in teaching (I am a teacher by trade), grocery shopping, outlining our Sunday morning worship services, etc.  In preparing to plan better, I have printed Budget Worksheets, but have yet to actually sit down and fill them out.  My sister-in-law and I have been meal planning our dinners each week, which helps plan out the weekly grocery shopping trips.  It is nice to know what our evening meals will look like for the week.  We are trying to gauge meals that are easy to prep and still healthy with lots of veggies.
  1. “My changing body revealed all my secrets…Poor choices with food will rat me out every time” (page 38).  What is the relationship between food and secrets?  What secrets do you think your body reveals?
  • Oh, the relationship between food and secrets can run deep.  In the past, I always ate more (emotional eater here) when I was hiding something or refusing to deal with something.  Food became my escape.  So did reading.  I can get lost in the pages of a novel so easily!  So what does my body reveal?  I hate doing my hair and make-up.  So when I go out, my body is as-is.  I try to dress classy but casual, and am thankful for a job where I can wear jeans.  I don’t put a lot of effort into myself, nor do I want to feel like I need to put a ton of effort to show my best self.  My husband tells me I am beautiful, and that he loves how my inner beauty shines on my face.  He is good, yes?  J  When I am tired, my face shows it.  When I am overeating, my hips show it.  My body does not hide much, though I do carry my weight well.  People are always shocked to find out how much I actually weigh (truth:  my driver’s license weight is about 30 pounds LIGHTER than I really am…).
  1. Choosing a healthy eating plan that works for you may require research, experimentation, and consultation with your doctor or other healthcare professionals.  How does the prospect of doing these things make you feel?  Does it energize you and help you to feel equipped or does it overwhelm you and make you feel discouraged?
  • Well, I am meeting a whole new team of doctors as it is.  I know I need to make changes for my health, so I am warming up to the idea.  However, I don’t like the primary care physician I went to, so I will be finding a new one.  I still need to meet my new endocrinologist, and I would be more apt to meal plan and do dietary discussions with her knowing she specializes in the endocrine system and will know more about the diabetes aspect.  I am a little overwhelmed in the process here, knowing I have to work on self-control (a fruit of the Spirit, so Spirit, please help this one grow!), and actually care about myself for the first time in a long time.  I am facing down the lies of the enemy, and will be reading Lies Women Believe for another Bible Study my church is doing.  The truths here in Made to Crave and in Diabetes Burnout are about to meet up with a whole lot more truth and flip my life all over the place!  I need it though.  Lord, teach me.  Your child is willing to learn and grow.
  1. Lysa describes her food plan but emphasized the importance of choosing a healthy plan that works for you.  What words or phrases would you use to describe the kind of plan you think would be realistic for you over the long term?  On a scale of one to ten, how hopeful are you that you can find a realistic food plan, one that you can grow to love just as Lysa grew to love her food plan?
  • Moderation is key.  My meal plan has to involve flexibility, accountability, and portion control.  I need it to fit in my budget, and in the crazy lifestyle we live.  On the go, I need to re-implement smart choices when we go out to eat, when we are eating with our church family, when we are on the road.  Life is busy, schedules chaotic.  I think it is doable though, and hope to stay around a 7.5-8 on the scale of realism here.

 

♥••*´¨`*•.☆• LetsDoThisTogether •☆.•*´¨`*••♥

Share to save to your timeline..

Join us here for more every day fun, tips, recipes, weight loss support & motivation

https://www.facebook.com/groups/LetsDoThisTogether/

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK – I am always posting awesome stuff!

https://www.facebook.com/Karabear80

http://KMiller80.SBC90.com

4 thoughts on “Made to Crave Ch 3 reflection questions

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this chapter. I know this is hard, but GLORY will come! We know this and because of THIS knowledge… we will succeed! Be Blessed!

  2. I loved the book Made to Crave!! It was such a great perspective/spin on eating. I forgot all about it over the past few years…need to dig that out and do a blog post about that. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

