Chapter 5 Reflection Questions (Made To Crave)

Chapter 5:

“I was made for more” is a spiritual truth that unlocks great power for Christians (page 51).  When you think of your past failures and your current struggles with food [or for me, my diabetes], how do you hope this truth might help you?

  • I pray this truth helps me overcome the lies of the enemy.  He so often reminds me of my failures of the past and I get discouraged.  I think, “I am destined to fail again.”  Not this time.  This time, the enemy does NOT have power over me.  I am a child of the King of kings!  I AM made for more than this, more than my past, made for more than failure.  I am weak, but my God is strong!  Lord, equip me!  Help me to put on your armor every day so that I may stand firm, stand strong against the darts of the enemy.  May the shield of Faith block each blow, and may I use your sword of Truth to both protect myself and fight the enemy.

 

When you introduce yourself to someone you don’t know, how do you define yourself?  By your family relationships (as a wife, mother, daughter, aunt)?  By a professional title, or lack of one?  By where you live or go to church?  What might your introduction reveal about how you understand your own identity?

  • The manner in which I introduce myself seems to depend on the situations in which I am present.  This past weekend, I was at a church leadership conference, so I had my name and my church name on my name tag.  I also am the wife of the man leading the church we attend, so I frequently identified myself as his wife.  I had my son with me, so I identified myself as his mother, and Zander as our son.  What I am beginning to understand is that in society, we associate ourselves by those around us.  In God’s kingdom though, the only association necessary is that we are children of God.  When we have Christ in our hearts and have accepted the gift of salvation through his sacrifice on the cross, nothing else matters.  We are adopted into HIS family, and that alone means EVERYTHING.

 

Lysa describes how she once defined her identity by her circumstances:  Lysa, the broken girl from a broken hjome; Lysa, the girl rejected by her father; Lysa, the girl sexually abused by a grandfather figure.  Have you ever felt your identity was defined by your circumstances?  If you were to describe your identity as Lysa did, what would be on your list?

  • We all have our lists, don’t we?  And no list is any more significant that another’s list.  We all have our battles, and to each of us individually, our burdens and battles are hard to bear.  For me, I struggled with my identity for about 15 years.  I was Kara, the type 1 diabetic, the oldest child/grandchild in my family, the studious one, the overweight one, the ugly one.  I was the one who had no confidence, who gave into the desires of others because I was afraid.  I gave up my own convictions because I was afraid I would not be loved any more by the people I was with.  I was the people-pleaser.  I was date-raped.  I was manipulated.  I was lonely, scared, afraid of failure.  And yet, I seems to fail at everything I did.  I was a survivor of suicide.  I was depressed, struggling with suicidal thoughts myself, the one who struggled with grief and “getting over it.”  And the Lord has taught me much since my struggles with these “identifiers.” 

 

Take a moment to review the following list of statements, inserting your name before each one.  How does this understanding of how God sees you impact the circumstance-based view of your identity you listed in response to question 3?

  • Kara, the forgiven child of God (Romans 3:24)
  • Kara, the set-free child of God (Romans 8:1-2)
  • Kara, the accepted child of God (1 Corinthians 1:2)
  • Kara, the holy child of God (1 Corinthians 1:30)
  • Kara, the made-new child of God (2 Corinthians 5:17)
  • Kara, the loved child of God (Ephesians 1:4)
  • Kara, the close child of God (Ephesians 2:13)
  • Kara, the confident child of God (Ephesians 3:12)
  • Kara, the victorious child of God (Romans 8:37)

This teaches me much about being an Overcomer!  I am not defined by what I see, what others see, in me,  The Lord alone transforms me, and each obstacle I face is another opportunity to allow the Potter to do His thing.  He shapes me and molds me, He removed the impurities and strengthens and reinforces the clay in His hands.  I am the clay.  I am HIS CREATION, and He has written ALL of my days.  I proclaim victory over the doubt, the depression, the history because I know He renews me every day.  This mindset is a work in progress, and I know I will have to be reminded of it often.  And I trust that God will whisper these truths to me daily.  I know without my past, I would not be who I am today.  That is only true because of who God is, and what He has done in my life.  To God be the glory!

 

Refer back to page 51 or your Bible.  Reread Ephesians 1:17-20 and reflect on the key themes of the passage using the questions below:

  • Be persistent:  “I keep asking.”  Do you have any reservations about asking God for wisdom and power each day to help you on this journey?  How do you hope persistent prayer might help you?
  • Embrace a true identity:  “Glorious Father.”  With what untruths about your identity have you struggled?  How might your life change if you could embrace the truth of your identity as a child of God?
  • Find the deeper reason:  “So that you may know him better.”  How might God use your journey toward healthy eating as a way to help you get to know Him better?
  • Discover a hope and power like no other:  “That the eyes of your heart might be enlightened.”  To what degree do you feel like everything depends on you—your will power and determination?  A little?  A lot?  To what degree do you believe that the same power that raised Jesus from the dead is also available to help you?  A little?  A lot?  As you reflect back on each day, how will you know whether you relied on your own strength or leaned into God’s strength?

I didn’t think I had any reservations, and then I realized I have NOT been asking God to guide me on this journey!  Lord, forgive me for not inviting you into my struggle through this!  I need you!  In my weakness, YOU are strong!  I ask for Your Spirit to embrace me and guide me with your wisdom and strength today.  May I feel your prompting to drink more water, to eat smaller portions, and to make healthy choices.  May this journey be an act of worship to you!  I am reminded that my body is YOUR temple, so I desire to choose to care for it, to care for myself, as such.  I need your strength to help me make choices that will glorify you, that will strengthen and cleanse your temple, Mighty God!

In knowing whether I am relying on my own strength or the Lord’s strength, I think reflecting back on my choices daily will reveal the truth.  Am I choosing moderation?  Am I choosing to get up and move?  The daily struggles with temptation and experiencing life as an Overcomer will reveal the source of the strength.  If I rely on my own strength, I will fall.  I am weak, and my God is strong!

 

 

♥••*´¨`*•.☆• LetsDoThisTogether •☆.•*´¨`*••♥

Share to save to your timeline..

Join us here for more every day fun, tips, recipes, weight loss support & motivation

https://www.facebook.com/groups/LetsDoThisTogether/

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK – I am always posting awesome stuff!

https://www.facebook.com/Karabear80

http://KMiller80.SBC90.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

