Chapter 7 Reflection Questions (Made To Crave)

Chapter 7 Reflection Questions

 When she felt like she didn’t measure up, Lysa says she kicked into withdrawal mode or fix-it mode.  What mode do you kick into when you feel like you don’t measure up?

I go into what I call “shut-down” mode.  I struggle with depression, so when those depressive moods swoop in, it is not pretty.  I’ll lose myself in novels for days, stay in bed, not shower…now that I have my son (one year old), I can’t stay in bed, but I do still have shut-down modes.  I am now on medication, which does help to prevent total shut-down.

Lysa describes how God used a passage from Isaiah to encourage her and affirms how much God wants to be in communication with us.  If you could clearly hear God’s words to you throughout the day, what kind of things would you hope you might hear Him say?  What, specifically, would you like to hear Him say when you are struggling with food choices or issues related to your weight?

I need to hear “You are My creation.  You are beautiful.  Come to Me, child, and rest in My arms.  Do not burden yourself with the things of this world, but rest in My care.  I want you to be healthy, so I will help you do this.  Let me come alongside you so that My strength can equip you for these choices.  Seek and ask for My wisdom, and I will give it to you.”

The apostle Peter writes that God’s “divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness” (2 Peter 1:3).  In other words, with God’s power we have everything we need to experience victory in our struggles.  Do you feel you have everything you need from God in order to overcome your struggles with food?  Or is this one of those truths that looks good on Bible paper but doesn’t seem to impact your everyday life?  How might your relationship to food change if you could fully embrace this truth?

This is definitely a truth I have struggled with over the years.  I KNOW God’s Word is the ultimate truth, and is all we need.  I KNOW I have everything I need from the Lord.  KNOWING and DOING are two very different things, I have learned.  I call it head knowledge vs. heart knowledge.  Putting into ACTION my head knowledge, I know my relationship with food would change very much.  My dad calls his meals “fuel.”  Yes, he wants it to taste good and be good for him, but meals replenish nutrients and energy only.  Food nourishes my body as God’s Word nourishes my soul.  I need to put in that which is most beneficial in both areas of my life.

“I am a Jesus girl who can step on the scale and see the numbers as an indication of how much my body weighs and not as an indication of my worth” (page 74).  How do the numbers on the scale impact your self-worth?  Is Lysa’s statement one you can make with full confidence or is it something you aspire to but haven’t quite reached?

It used to impact me very much, to the point I didn’t want to get on the scale any more.  I felt ugly, unlovable, depressed.  My outward appearance I always felt wasn’t good enough.  I am closer to conquering these lies, and yet Satan still tries to throw them at me.  I pick up my shield of faith and extinguish those darts, sometimes burn free and sometimes not.  God continues to heal me, to remind me that I am HIS, and His works are GOOD.  (Psalm 139)

What self-defeating thoughts or hurtful comments from others routinely run through your mind when it comes to food and your weight?  What insights and perspectives do you gain when you scrutinize them with these questions:  A) Is this true?  B) Is this beneficial?  C) Is this necessary?

“Should you be eating that?”  “Is that allowed with your diabetes?”  “You need to…”  I hate when everyone questions my choices.  When that happens, I feel like such a child!  I am 33 years old, and yes, I sometimes make poor choices with my food.  I know I am diabetic, and I am counting my carbs and adjusting my insulin dosage.  Yes, I know I am overweight, and I am working toward health.  Give me the benefit of the doubt that I have awareness of my body and my issues.  I know people tell me things because they care about me.  I know they want to see me healthy and happy.  I know they don’t always know the best way to speak or show that care.  So I remind myself, “I am loved, I am cared for.”  I need to put statements into the proper context to hear the love behind them.

Leave a Reply

