“Things lost, better things gained…” (Made to Crave, Ch 18, Diabetes Burnout Conclusion)

I finished Diabetes Burnout!  So I started reading another book I will add to the blogging journey.  😉

So, to reflect on what I have been reading:

Chapter 18 of Made to Crave is titled “Things Lost, Better Things Gained.”  Lysa writes, “Something I’ve honestly grown to love.  Victory.  But victory won’t stay for long if I start resisting and disliking her essential requirements of sacrifice and repentance” (pg 137).

So true!  We “diet” and “deprive” ourselves to reach a goal, only to revert back to our old habits as soon as that goal is maintained.  This only creates a constant roller coaster of highs and lows!  God calls us to CHANGE.  Health, choosing health, is not easy in today’s society.  This is a complete lifestyle change, whether you are a person of faith or not.  The change is easier for me when I put it in context with scripture.

The first passage that comes to mind is Colossians 3:  If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is your life appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.  Put to death therefore what is earthly in you: sexual immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry. On account of these the wrath of God is coming.In these you too once walked, when you were living in them. But now you must put them all away: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk from your mouth.Do not lie to one another, seeing that you have put off the old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge after the image of its creator. Here there is not Greek and Jew, circumcised and uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave, free; but Christ is all, and in all.Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Put off the old self, and put on the new.  2 Corinthians 5:17 reflects this as well:  Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

Part of this new creation is recognizing and conquering temptations.  To conquer a temptation does not mean that it is no longer a temptation, but that we learn how to turn and walk away from it.  Lysa puts it this was on page 138:  “Some actions are not sinful in themselves, but they are not appropriate because they can control our lives and lead us away from God.”  We need to recognize who or what has control over us.  If Christ is not the center, what is?  Why is it?  How can we refocus back to God, and the work He completed on the cross?

“What if this whole journey of getting healthy could be more about what we’re in the process of gaining than what we’re losing?  In the midst of losing chips and chocolate, there are things to be gained.  Things that unleash my weighted down soul, re-inflate my defeated attitude, and set loose a hope that maybe, just maybe, I can” (pg 139).

“Focusing only on what we’re giving up will make us feel constantly deprived.  And deprivation leads to desperation, frustration, and failure.  Instead, we have to focus on everything we’re gaining through this process.  And see the gains as more valuable than the losses” (pgs 140-141).

And this leads to the conclusion of Diabetes Burnout:  Time for Action.  Weigh the losses and the gains.

What have I gained from reading this book?  So many times, the testimonies on the page I felt had to have come straight from my heart and mind!  I am NOT alone in this struggle!  What I am experiencing is NORMAL!  And, I am finding the encouragement to OVERCOME the burnout and DO SOMETHING to move toward health.  I am more aware of what my struggles are, and how to brainstorm ideas to overcome those barriers.  I am already more frequently monitoring my glucose levels.  Progress!  Room to grow still, but PROGRESS!  Already I have data to discuss with my new endocrinologist.  We are experimenting with some dosages this week to combat the morning high blood sugars.  We’ll see what happens, and adjust as needed.  I am looking forward to my next A1C check to see if it has come down from the one last month.  I get it checked again April 21.

And so my journey continues.  I am gaining insight, data, courage, determination, faith, endurance.  I am losing inches, poor self-images, the need for complete control.  I am learning to surrender, to submit, to obey.  God is an amazing Teacher, and I am thankful for the revelations He continues to send my way.  Holy Spirit, may my eyes and ears be open to receive what You have for me today!

Leave a Reply

