Made to Crave Chapter 19: Live as an Overcomer

To live as an overcomer is to no longer get depressed when viewing super models on magazine covers, or when trying on bathing suits in the dressing rooms at Kohl’s.  Living as an overcomer happens when I see beauty in the mirror rather than my newly-greying hair, rosacea, and skin tags; when I see joy radiating from deep within my eyes instead of fatigue and depression; when I have peace enveloping me instead of anxiety.

Lysa writes on page 146, “Regardless, I stood there and for the first time realized my mind wasn’t racing with self-condemnations.  I simply smiled.  And I realized my victory isn’t tied as much to the way I’ve changed physically as it is tied to the way I’ve overcome mentally and spiritually…not being weighted down mentally and spiritually by the constant feeling of defeat is the real victory.”

She also writes, “Having a weight issue is not God’s curse on us.  It is an external manifestation of an internal struggle.  Just like debt for the overspender or an overstuffed house for a hoarder, issues with weight are signs that we need to get unstuck from unhealthy habits.”

My biggest unhealthy habit is AVOIDANCE.  Yep.  I eat to escape reality.  I avoid dealing with the issues at hand by escaping into the world of fiction in the pages of David Baldacci, Karen Kingsbury, Agatha Christie, Lisa Scottoline, Francine Rivers…into the world of TV characters like Jessica Fletcher, Bones, MacGyver, Sam Beckett, Abby and McGee..

So, to maintain success on this journey to health, I have to face the issues head on.  Deal with the medical debts, face my type 1 diabetes directly by monitoring my glucose levels, and eat in moderation.  I would like to increase my activity level, and may need a knee brace to do so.  I need to just do this.  Good thing the temperatures are due to rise!  I think I may take some walks.  This weekend at Walmart, I found a pair of Dr. Scholl’s sneakers on clearance for $5, so I have good walking shoes now.  I have a great stroller for Zander.

This passage from Philippians 4 is evidencing itself in my life more and more:  I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity.  Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.  I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Yes, with HIS strength, He and I can walk this path toward health together.  I am not alone in my journey, and He is revealing His truth in my life more and more.  I am growing spiritually, emotionally, and physically.  Slowly, Victory will rise in this life of mine.  And I will praise the Lord every step of the way, whether steps forward or backward.  Let the dance of life begin!

Leave a Reply

