Chapter 10 Reflection Questions: Made to Crave

Chapter 10 Reflection Questions:

Recall the last special occasion or celebration you attended.  What foods were present that you knew probably weren’t good choices for you?  If you ate them, how much of your decision was influenced by telling yourself this was a special situation and deserved an exception?  If you passed them by, did you nevertheless resent your choice because it didn’t seem fair?

Ah, this weekend, actually, I went to a baby shower!  And, the food offered was cupcakes, caramel corn, hot dogs, cheesy nachos and pico de gallo, and sloppy joes.  I ate…a hot dog…nachos with cheese and pico de gallo, and caramel corn…and 2 Diet Cokes…and a cupcake.  I was surrounded by friends, and I came before I ate lunch and had driven three hours to get there.  Yeah, I did not set myself up for success in this situation at all. 

Realizing my failures in this situation, I know I need to prepare differently next time.  Bring a water bottle with me.  Eat a healthy meal before I go.  Bring a baggie of celery and carrot sticks, and a small container of hummus to munch on while I am there.  If I decide to have a diet soda, have one, and sip it instead of chug it down.  Make it last and savor every sip. 

I can be successful at special events.  I just need to prepare ahead of time.

“Temptation doesn’t take kindly to being starved” (page 101).  Have you experienced what it’s like to starve temptation in any area of your life?  What happened?  How did it make you feel?  For example, did you feel peaceful and empowered, or like a tug-of-war was raging in your heart?

Yes, I have starved temptation, on numerous occasions.  When first accepting the need to kick a sin to the curb, it is a tug-of-war for sure.  The most vivid memory of me doing this is January 2009.  God put on my heart to give up dating (and being in a room alone with a man at all, except for my dad) for Lent that year.  And Lent became a year, and a year became two.  At first, I didn’t want to.  I wanted to go out dancing, to make out with so and so, to give into the desires of my flesh.  Once I got past that though and realized that I needed to fill that time with God instead of a man, and I began the Bible studies God had brought across my path, I really began to enjoy that time with Him.  I began a cleansing process as the Holy Spirit began to weed my heart.  He began to remove the spirit of rejection, of sexual sin, of people-pleasing, of hurt and loneliness.  Yes, I was spending time alone, in His presence, and He took away the feeling of loneliness.  Cool, right?  Following this season of Bible study and reflection, God brought an incredible man into my life.  We courted, and then married!  Now, to let the Holy Spirit do the same with my physical body… 😉

Lysa says she recognizes that having a pity party is a clue she is relying on her own strength rather than God’s strength.  What clues you into the fact that you are relying on your own strength in your battles with food?

When I pull into the drive-thru instead of passing it by.  Oh I so wanted to pull through Dunkin’ Donuts today!  And I didn’t.  God gave me strength!  I know I am relying on my own strength when I am giving into temptation more and more frequently…like buying a dozen donuts at the donut shop down the street, or getting a diet Coke in the drive-thru at McDonald’s…

Have you ever felt as if issues with food and weight were God’s unfair curse on you or wished your struggle could be with something other than food?  In what ways might your struggle be beneficial or even a blessing?

I guess in a way I have felt this, but as a byproduct of having Type 1 Diabetes.  I felt trapped in a food jail, restricting everything that goes into my mouth.  Now, some things I willingly gave up, like orange juice and other heavily-caloried beverages.  I’d rather savor every bite of an orange than drink a glass of juice too quickly.  Early in my years with diabetes, foods were much more restricted:  NO candy of ANY kind, NO sugar, NO “goodies” of any kind…so, you know, as a child, it just makes you crave it more!  We want what we cannot have.  So, when I am told something is NOT ALLOWED, I go into “pout mode.”  Instead, I have to ask myself, “Is this really worth taking an injection?”  I need to focus more on foods that are enjoyable AND beneficial for me.  I enjoy salads, so I should eat them more frequently.  I love vegetables, especially broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus, zucchini, yellow squash, etc.  The low-carb veggies are AMAZING!  I enjoy berries, yogurt, apples and peanut butter, slices of cheese, hummus, chili, soups, crockpot meals of chicken or pork and chopped veggies.  Most of these are low-carb and high-protein foods! 

I know in many ways, having diabetes is a blessing in disguise.  It gave me a built-in excuse to say no to drugs when I was in school (and I still say no!), and it has made me aware of life with chronic illness and disabilities.  It has given me a deeper understanding of mental illness in the fact that taking medication is OK!  Sometimes our bodies just don’t produce what it needs to function at 100%, so we have to supplement with prescriptions and healthy foods.  I have more compassion and empathy than I think I ever would have otherwise.  For this, I am thankful.

When facing a moment of indecision about food, Lysa recommends thinking beyond the moment by saying, “This feels good now, but how will I feel about this in the morning?”  Thinking back to the last time you ate something you later regretted, do you believe asking yourself this question would have changed your decision?  Why or why not?

I think I would rephrase the question, but asking myself SOMETHING would be beneficial and help me make better decisions.  Perhaps a question like, “How will this affect my glucose level?” or “I know this will taste good in the moment, but how long will that last?”  Realizing these moments are temporary and leave me just as empty emotionally will help me in the decision-making process.

“Compromise built upon compromise equals failure…[P]romise upon promise creates empowerment” (page 104).  Some decisions about food seem inconsequential in the moment, but even small decisions can have a big impact over time.  In which direction are your small decisions about food leading—toward failure or empowerment?

Ugh…the past has obviously shown my pattern toward failure when it comes to food.  Lately though, my small decisions have been quite mixed, so I guess I am moving in the right direction?  I like to think that I am!  Each day is a new beginning and I need to address each decision with an attitude of prayer and purpose.

“The struggle to say no may be painful in the moment, but it is working out something magnificent within us” (page 104).  What is the magnificent thing you hope God might do in you through your struggle to say no?

I pray the Lord will be glorified!  I want to have an attitude of obedience!  Through my obedience to the Lord, I pray my son will learn to be obedient as well.  Again, may the Lord be glorified!

Leave a Reply

