Truth (Made To Crave Bloghop post, Week 4)

P31 OBS Blog Hop

I have struggled with the lies of the enemy for most of my life.  Oooh, he is sneaky and persuasive!  So, I want to make a list of some of the lies that I have been believing and follow each of them with the TRUTH in God’s Word!

 

Lie #1:  I am not loveable.  No one will ever love me unless I demonstrate to them why they should love me.

Truth #1:  God loves me.  He loved me so much, He sent His son to die for MY sins!  John 3:16-18, Romans 5:1-11Romans 8:31-39

 

 

Lie #2:  I don’t deserve to be loved.

Truth #2:  None of us DESERVE to be loved.  We are all sinners, broken and soiled.  (Romans 3:23) And yet, even before we respond to the call God has placed over our lives, HE LOVES US ANYWAY and pursues us!  Ephesians 1Philippians 1:6

 

 

Lie #3:  I am ugly, and I’ll never be thin enough to be beautiful.

Truth #3:  God created me, and HIS WORKS ARE GOOD!  This truth has been working its way to my core for about a decade now.  I frequently recite the words of Psalm 139:13-14 to myself to be reminded of this truth.  All of this passage has a multitude of truth that I need to embrace though!  Click here to read it:  Psalm 139

 

 

Lie #4:  I don’t need to check my glucose levels; I know where it is just based on how I feel.

Truth #4:  Satan manipulates me feelings.  Sensations are fleeting.  Truly, they are!  The Truth is that my body is a temple, and God’s Spirit dwells within me.  1 Cor 6:19-20 “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.”  I will overcome the temptation to lay back and ignore this disease.  With HIS STRENGTH, I can continue to live with this thorn in my flesh.

 

 

Lie #5:  Food will make the hurt go away (confessions of an emotional eater)

Truth #5:  God is Jehovah Jireh.  He provides all the healing and comfort I need, through His Spirit, through family and friends, and through counselors.  Matt 6, Exodus 16, Psalm 23

 

 

So, with the TRUTH in God’s Word, WE are overcoming and defeating the lies of the enemy.  God is my EVERYTHING.  He is revealing this to me more and more, every day! 

 

 

Oh, and a couple more songs about listening for God’s Truth (and a reference to one of my favorite movies, Facing the Giants…):

 

 

And WE ARE OVERCOMERS!  Thank you, Mandisa, for inspiring me with the words God put on your heart to sing!

 

11 thoughts on “Truth (Made To Crave Bloghop post, Week 4)

  1. LOVE your post today! The music you posted and especially this line:

    So, with the TRUTH in God’s Word, WE are overcoming and defeating the lies of the enemy.

    Have a wonderfully blessed day!
    Christine

  2. Love this. I’ve “fallen off the bandwagon” the last 8ish days and trying to get back to everything (eating well, mothering the way I know I can/God has called me, meeting Lilys school needs, etc). Lots of prayer/organizing last night and I’m feeling so much better about everything today. God is good indeed!!

  3. As a music lovin’ girl let me tell you I LOVED your post! Not only for the music but for your openness and honesty! Sharing your “lies” is not easy to do, especially putting them out there for everyone to see! Thank you so much for a wonderful post!!!

  4. These are lies that Satan likes to throw at us guys, too, in a tailored sort of way for men. I’m so encouraged with how the Lord has prompted you to share these songs and the truth from Scripture about how to combat these lies. What a huge blessing!!!

Leave a Reply

