Chapter 13 Reflection Questions (Made to Crave)

Chapter 13 Reflection Questions

What are the unspoken truths about food at your church or in your circle of Christian friends?  In terms of how they eat and relate to food, is your Christian community an asset or a liability to your healthy eating goals

Ah, Sunday mornings without food would be the miracle!  Ha ha!  It seems to be true that not only is God present when two or three gather together in His name, but so is a plate of cookies, muffins, and coffee.  Thankfully, lately we have also had fresh fruit, cheese and crackers, and sometimes oatmeal.  I think if we were to communicate more clearly about all of our health desires and needs, this small church body of ours would step up and support each other in this.  We have at least 3 with gluten intolerance, a couple who desire organic and GMO-free foods, and then a couple more of us who are trying to get down to a healthy BMI.  Plus, we want to set good examples for all the children.  Hmmm…I think I am seeing a need here…

Gluttony of any kind—food, alcohol, drugs, sex—could be described as a desperate attempt to silence the cries of a hungry soul.  Have you ever thought of overeating in this way, as an attempt to silence your hungry soul?  How might this perspective help you gain new insights about your battles with food?

Oh I am fully aware that I have used food to squelch the hormonal rages, to fill the emotional holes in my heart and soul.  After reading Psalm 63 this morning, I am definitely feeling that more than ever, and recognizing that it is God my soul is thirsting for instead of cookies, cereal or chips and hummus.  “O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory. Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips, when I remember you upon my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night; for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.  My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me. But those who seek to destroy my life shall go down into the depths of the earth; they shall be given over to the power of the sword; they shall be a portion for jackals. But the king shall rejoice in God; all who swear by him shall exult, for the mouths of liars will be stopped.”

 

If your soul is like a ravenous vacuum cleaner, what kinds of things has it sucked up over the years in its longing to be filled?

Things I have used to fill the voids:  sex, relationships, shopping, dance lessons, alcohol, acts of service, seeking approval from others.  I am now seeking to fill the desires with God rather than things of this world.  I am seeking His Truth to counteract the lies that Satan has fed to me over the years.

Lysa uses the Exodus story to demonstrate how God taught His people to depend on Him by giving them just what they needed each day (pages 131-132).  In what ways might this story be an encouragement to you?  Are you in the habit of depending on God for what you need each day—to be your daily portion of companionship, provision, strength?  What “manna” do you long for most from God?

I think my biggest need is continued emotional and mental healing.  I have a lot of brokenness from my past, and as much as I try to give the Lord all the pieces of my heart, it seems that I always hold at least one piece back.  God is the Lord of my healing, and I have to trust the Potter with ALL of me, including each and every broken sliver.  And, I have a tendency to re-break the vessel once He repairs it.  Anyone else feel like that???

Have there been times in your life when you struggled because you didn’t have what you needed?  How might these experiences of deprivation impact your ability to trust that God can give you what you need each day to deal with food?

Of course I have struggled without having all the right tools in my tool box!  As God revealed to me over time that my box was lacking, He also led me to people and places where these needs would be met.  Through counseling, through friends, through my church family, God has given me coping mechanisms to help me through depression, through suicidal thoughts, through some really tough stuff.  His Word equips me with truth to combat the darkness of this world.  Looking to my past, I know God provides.  He is Jehovah Jireh, and NOTHING will change that.  He alone is my strength in this journey to health, in this journey through life.

“For he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things” (Psalm 107:9).  How do you respond to this promise?  If you could ask God for one good thing that would help you to feel a deep and soul-filling satisfaction, what would it be?

I respond with “Halleluiah!” 

I don’t think there is anything else I can ask God for beyond the words of this song.  And all these things He has already given me!  The only thing, I guess, beyond that, is for me to REMEMBER these things!

Leave a Reply

