Your Great Name

What does your name mean?  My name, Kara, means “pure.”  Names are important, and do a lot to help define us.  What do people think of when they hear your name?  Is it good, bad, indifferent?  Do you want it to be different?

How do we redefine who we are?  The biggest thing we can do is not let this world define us but to be defined by the one who created us.

The name of our Creator, our Heavenly Father, the God of the Universe, is a powerful name!  The name above all names!  I have been listening to this song sung by Natalie Grant for a few days now.  Read these lyrics, pull up the video, let the words wash over you!

 

“Your Great Name”

[Verse 1:]
Lost are saved; find their way; at the sound of your great name
All condemned; feel no shame, at the sound of your great name
Every fear; has no place; at the sound of your great name
The enemy; he has to leave; at the sound of your great name

[Chorus:]
Jesus, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain for us, Son of God and Man
You are high and lifted up; that all the world will praise your great name

[Verse 2:]
All the weak; find their strength; at the sound of your great name
Hungry souls; receive grace; at the sound of your great name
The fatherless; they find their rest; at the sound of your great name
Sick are healed; and the dead are raised; at the sound of your great name

[Chorus:]
Jesus, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain for us, Son of God and Man
You are high and lifted up; that all the world will praise your great name

[Bridge:]
Redeemer, My Healer, Almighty
My savior, Defender, You are My King

[Chorus:]
Jesus, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain for us, Son of God and Man
You are high and lifted up; that all the world will praise your great name

Psalm 8 speaks to this as well!  Wow, I love the words of this Psalm!  “O Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! You have set your glory above the heavens.  Out of the mouth of babies and infants,
you have established strength because of your foes, to still the enemy and the avenger.When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him?Yet you have made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honor.You have given him dominion over the works of your hands; you have put all things under his feet,all sheep and oxen, and also the beasts of the field,the birds of the heavens, and the fish of the sea, whatever passes along the paths of the seas.O Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!”

How majestic!  How inspiring!  And this is the King who defines me!  He created me!  Each and every flaw I have, He purposely put there for a reason.  I don’t  understand all those reasons yet, but I am learning.  This disease of Type 1 diabetes, as frustrating as it is, has allowed Compassion for others to grow in my heart and life.  Experiencing grief has opened my eyes to the world of mental health and the needs that abound there.  The pieces of my broken life and heart have been given to my Savior and He has created a masterpiece.  I am beginning to see the beauty in the ashes, and am gaining thankfulness more and more every day.  My God is an AWESOME GOD.  In the midst of tragedy, pain, sickness, death, He brings life, hope, peace.  He creates bonds of friendship and family that run so deep, nothing can break them.

Today’s verse of the day on Biblegateway is this:  “For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38-39 ESV”  Trust me, this is TRUE!  NOTHING has been able to break this bond God and I have, and I have been through A LOT.  Not as much as some, and more than others.  This is my journey He has written for me.  And each step of the way I know He is with me.  He carries me, even when I don’t feel Him do so.  In the darkest of moments, I know eventually I will be able to reflect back and see His Hand in it, supporting me and embracing me every second.

2 thoughts on “Your Great Name

Leave a Reply

