Chapter 14 Reflection Questions (Made to Crave)

Chapter 14 Reflection Questions

“Each time my heart felt a little empty, my stomach picked up on the cues and suggested I feed it instead” (page 138).  Do you feel a similar connection between feelings of emotional emptiness and physical hunger?  Do you feel you are able to distinguish between physical hunger and emotionally triggered hunger, or does it feel the same to you?

This has been my past!  I feel like I am just now, at almost-34, beginning to understand the difference.  Also, I am recognizing that sometimes hunger is a sign of thirst, so I am grabbing water instead of another yogurt, animal crackers, or tortilla chips. So, what I need to do, is when I feel the desire to eat something, start with water.  Then prayer, worship music, scripture, human interaction, glucose checking.  Then food last if my stomach has started growling

Lysa describes how she used the phrases of Philippians 4:8 to park her mind in a better spot about the painful relationship with her father.  Using the phrases below and Lysa’s example as a guide (pages 141-143), invite God to give you a better place to park your mind about a painful experience from your own past.

  • Whatever is true…Lord, Your Word is truth.  When I get sucked back into the past by the enemy, may I find the Truth of Your Word:  that You have a plan for me, that You have written all of my days, and that whatever I have experienced, You weave it all together for Your Glory!  2 Timothy 3:16-17 All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work.
  • Whatever is noble…May I turn to You, may I seek Your wisdom as I model for my son.  May I ask myself, “If Zander sees me doing this, what will he learn?”  I want to teach my son, the son You have given me, to be noble.  Jesus is the perfect example of nobility, in John 10:11; “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.”
  • Whatever is right…May I seek to obey You, Lord.  Without the help of Your Spirit, I fail at obedience!  Fill me, Holy Spirit, with desire for obedience, with strength with which to stand and flee from the temptations the enemy brings!  1 Peter 3:  But even if you should suffer for righteousness’ sake, you will be blessed. Have no fear of them, nor be troubled, but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect,  having a good conscience, so that, when you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ may be put to shame.  For it is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will, than for doing evil.
  • Whatever is pure…Lord, I confess my sins to you!  Purify my.  Psalm 51:  Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.  Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones that you have broken rejoice.  Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities. Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.  Psalm 119:7 How can a young man keep his way pure?  By guarding it according to your word.
  • Whatever is lovely…Lord, You alone are lovely!  May I turn my eyes toward You!  Psalm 84:  How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord of hosts! My soul longs, yes, faints for the courts of the Lord; my heart and flesh sing for joy to the living God.
  • Whatever is admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy…God alone is praiseworthy!  Mighty are His Works!  So Psalm 150 seems appropriate here:  Praise the Lord! Praise God in his sanctuary; praise him in his mighty heavens!  Praise him for his mighty deeds; praise him according to his excellent greatness!  Praise him with trumpet sound; praise him with lute and harp!  Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe!  Praise him with sounding cymbals; praise him with loud clashing cymbals!  Let everything that has breath praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!

 

A mosaic is a work of art made up of hundreds or thousands of tiny, broken pieces of glass or ceramic tile.  Lysa describes how God is making a mosaic of restoration and healing in her heart, gathering up her broken pieces and making them into something beautiful.  Can you imagine God doing something like this in your heart?  If God used the broken pieces of your life to make a beautiful image, what do you hope it would look like?

Oh yes!  Though I have always described it as a patchwork quilt, this image is incredibly beautiful!  I think the image of a quilt came to mind because my mom frequently describes our past as “part of our fabric.”  The experiences of the past have helped to shape me into who I am today, and they are each a part of my fabric.  So it makes sense to imagine God artistically hand-sewing another colorful piece onto this majestically beautiful quilt that is my life.  Psalm 139 reminds me that He had ready every piece of material needed for this quilt even before I was born:  “Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.” I praise God for that!  Now, when those pieces are dark and full of tragedy, it is hard to cling to this idea.  Over time, though, I am always able to come back to this.  Thank you, Lord, for Your patience and persistence in my life!

Leave a Reply

