Intentional Sacrifice

P31 OBS Blog Hop
Lysa talks about lasting, sustainable discipline and the importance of making one wise choice after another. What will this look like for you after our study ends? Do you believe it is possible?
One sacrifice I am making and want to continue to make is my early morning quiet times.  I have been attempting to get up prior to my 1-yr old (sometimes he is up before me, sometimes I am up well before him).  I have been getting up between 6 and 6:30 each morning, which is early compared to the 8-9 a.m. I was doing prior to the study.  I am enjoying this quiet sunrise, a fresh cup of coffee, God’s Word, and time with His spirit, time to reflect on the study, time to blog my response to God’s instruction in my life.
From the choice to arise each morning ready to commune with God, I hope to make more beneficial choices:  I have been eating breakfast on a more regular basis.  Each morning, my quiet time begins with checking my glucose levels and prayer.  I want to continue checking my glucose levels throughout the day.  Lunch time today was a success, and a good one!  102!  🙂  I’ll check again before dinner, and again before bed.  Last night before bed was 76!  I am so excited to see these levels beginning to show up in the average range once again!  I have lost about 10 pounds, and my jeans are starting to slip down.  Not enough yet to drop a size, but we are getting close!  I have been enjoying yogurt, kale, green beans, apples, berries, cheeses, soups, crockpot meals with lots of veggies and healthy meats.  I have avoided the temptation, thanks be to God, from running to the grocery store to buy  ice cream!
God is faithful, and He is teaching me to listen to the cues my body is giving me, to the prompting of His Spirit, to drink water instead of grabbing a candy bar.
These small lessons are adding up in big ways.  For this I am quite thankful, and am looking forward to continuing in this direction.  I am going to continue with the online Bible study of Made to Crave Action Plan, and am also on Chapter 3 of Lies Women Believe.  This book so far has been reaffirming the lessons I have learned through Made To Crave, and I am excited to take these lessons even deeper.
God has also been pressing on my heart to question my reasons for wanting to lose weight, to get healthy.  He has been teaching me a lot about what it means to be His daughter.  With these reasons (for my health, for energy, for longevity, to glorify God with my food choices, with my actions, with my body) and these lessons, I am prompted to do more than just a blog post.  I am working on compiling these thoughts and lessons into a book.  I am so excited about this process!  I’ll keep you posted on the progress, and reveal glimpses of the material here and there.  I don’t want to reveal too much, as that would give the book away!  😉
So is all this sustainable?  I hope so!  I know I am far from perfect, and I know there will be moments when I will fail (example:  the pizza from last week).  When that happens, I have to cast my cares before the Lord, let go, reach out for His hand, and stand up again.  Then I will take one step after another, get back on the path, and keep on going.  The more I learn, the more I am able to recognize those ways of escaping the snares of the enemy.
The verse for this week reminds me of that also:

Therefore let him who stands take heed lest he fall. No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it. – 1 Corinthians 10:12-13
Nothing I face is unknown to my all-knowing God.  He knows what I will face each moment of every day of my life, past, present, and future.  He has given me opportunities to reflect back on moments when I did fall, and in spite of the taunting of Satan at my failure, God reveals to me escape hatches I could have taken and to look for those when Satan brings that temptation my way again.  You see, when we fail, when we fall, Satan takes notes.  “Oh, that worked on her this time!  I’ll bring it on even stronger next time then.”  We have patterns that develop through our weaknesses (food, sex, drugs, relationships, phobias, etc.).  Each temptation then has more and more heat, more and more pressure intending to bring us down even harder with the intention to keep us there.  God has other purposes.  With His Strength, we can have victory over temptation, we can break the chains of lies and sin because of the Blood of Christ shed on the cross and His victory over death when He rose from the grave!  We can say NO, and understand that we are not garbage because of mistakes of our past.  We may be broken, and we have the most amazing Creator, the Potter who can mend us with a simple turn of His potter’s wheel.  What Satan meant for harm, God can turn into the most beautiful work of art!  We are HIS MASTERPIECES!
One of my favorite stories teaching this message is You Are Special by Max Lucado.  Enjoy the story for yourself.
2 thoughts on “Intentional Sacrifice

  1. Thanks for sharing. I will be looking forward to hearing about your progress with the book. I too am planning on sustaining my morning and evening quiet times. It really is amazing to see the difference spending that time with God makes in my day.

Leave a Reply

