Lessons from Pancakes…

So, Wednesday morning, I decided I was going to make pancakes.  As I searched the pantry, I realized I did not have any pancake mix!  Betty Crocker to the rescue!  I pulled out my cookbook, opened to breads, found the recipe for All-time favorite pancake mix, and got to work!  I pulled out all the ingredients, mixed, and then began to pour the batter, or plop it, onto the griddle pan.

Yeah, it was thick…and then I tasted it…

I had given one to Zander and a few to Brandon.  Z just put the pieces in his mouth and spit them all back out!  But, he kept putting the pieces in!  He is such a good little boy!  He puts everything into his mouth!  He is my goat child!

And I said, “I can’t eat these…” Took my plate to the garbage can, dumped them in, and grabbed a bowl of cheerios, which I eagerly shared with Zander.

Brandon said, “Well, I ate them, but I would prefer not to eat them again.”

So today, I thought, “Why not try that again?”  So, I pulled out the Betty Crocker cookbook, and said, “Well, THAT explains it!”  On Wednesday, I had used 3 teaspoons of baking SODA when the recipe CLEARLY says to use baking POWDER.  I can already see my middle school foods teacher, Mrs. Goins, shaking her head expressing her disappointment in my cooking skills.  Needless to say, today’s pancakes were a huge hit!  Light, fluffy, and delicious!  Zander put the pieces in his mouth and did not spit them back out!  Hooray for the 1-year-old’s approval!

Lesson learned:  fully read the recipe SLOWLY.  Speed reading and cooking do NOT go well together!

Spiritual lesson:  When we fail, give it to the Lord.  And don’t be afraid to try again.

Romans 5:3-5 ESV

More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 ESV

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Leave a Reply

