The Cost of Christ

Luke 9:57-62

As they were going along the road, someone said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.”  And Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.” To another he said, “Follow me.” But he said, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.” And Jesus said to him, “Leave the dead to bury their own dead. But as for you, go and proclaim the kingdom of God.” Yet another said, “I will follow you, Lord, but let me first say farewell to those at my home.” Jesus said to him, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for the kingdom of God.”

 

This is a tough passage of scripture upon which to dwell.  Really, leave my family behind and not look back?  Let my dead be, and not bury them? What does this REALLY mean?

Recently, my husband and I had to decide between staying where we were or moving three hours away for the sake of serving in ministry.  We prayed.  We sought counsel.  We received counsel from those we did not ask.  Everyone has an opinion, right?

It was difficult to make this decision, because we had just given birth to our son.  We lived near both my parents, we had family across the street, tons of friends from church, tons of family nearby, easy transportation, every convenience within a short drive.  My husband had a great job with Chick-Fil-A.  I was looking forward to tutoring while being a stay-at-home mom.  And then, the Lord brought us this opportunity to move to Champaign, IL.  My mom, bless her heart, gave me 100 reasons to stay in Aurora.  She brainstormed opportunities for income for us, reasons to stay near her and the family.  My brother and his wife were about to have a baby too.  Our kids could grow up together!  We had every reason in the world to say no to this move.

But we prayed.  “Lord, is this what you want for us?”  Every door opened.  I applied for and was offered a great part-time job where I can do most of my work from home, and Zander can come with me when I do need to go in.  It took Brandon a while longer to find a job, but we came down in faith that he would find one.  We know God led us to this house we are in now, and He has provided the money to stay here.  My hours increase at work just when we need it.  Friends bless us with gifts right when we need it.  Brandon has a steady job at the bank down the street, and he has a few clients for his editing business he does on the side.

We had no excuse great enough to say “No” to the Lord.  At what cost will we follow Him?  Well, we know we would move our stuff and our small family for Him.  That is what He has asked of us thus far.  Will He ask more?  Most likely.  Lord, may we be willing!

Side note:  I have had many opportunities to drive back “home” to see family and friends.  I am thankful we are within driving distance, and pray for more opportunities for them to come visit down here as well!  Secretly, I pray some of them may even move down here with us.  😉  Unlikely, I know.  But a girl can dream!

Leave a Reply

