Reflections on “Give in or dig in?”

From the P31OBS: Give in or Dig in?

Observe — What’s been your favorite part of Week 1?

Bible — One great way to see what God has to say about us is through a topical study of the Bible. To learn what it is and how to apply it, click here, then ask yourself, “What are those ‘give in’ feelings I am struggling with now?”

Write those feelings down, then do a topical search and see what God’s Word has to say about each one. Write out what you find, then use that truth in combat. ThisFREE printable can help you map out your strategy.

Stretch — Chapter 3 of “Becoming More”is all about finding our identities in Christ and realizing that in any situation, He can still be found. How will you look for Him this week in those tough moments? What verse is currently helping you #LiveItOut?

My Reflections:

O- One of my favorite parts of week 1 so far has been the online interactions.  I did my first Facebook live event last night, and have been enjoying my small group!  #BecomingMoreGroup83 rocks!

B- I am going to use the rest of today to do by topical study.  There are so many “give in” feelings that flitter in and out, and a few that have taken root in the past.  Even when uprooted, the enemy likes to remind me of those feelings.  He is such a guilt-tripper!  Some examples are these: “You’re ugly.”  “You’re not good enough.”  “You need to do MORE.”  “If you say no, they won’t appreciate and love you anymore.”  “You’re not a good mom.”  The last one is the newest and hardest.  God’s truth:  “I am wonderfully and fearfully made. (Psalm 139), I am not good enough, but my Savior Jesus Christ IS and He covers me. (Isaiah 43:25), I need to rest in His presence and His thoughts should be all that matter to me (1 Peter 5:7 is a start), and as a mom, I am a work in progress.  James 1:5:  If anyone lacks wisdom, he should ask God…God will guide me, step by step.  And I am not in this alone.  I have an amazing husband, and for that, I am so thankful to our God!  When I remember that, it reminds me to pray for all our single parents out there.

S- Our verse from John 15:13 is helping me this week.  It is reminding me to #LiveOutLOVE and to #LiveOutGRACE.  It is easy to get envious, or to be bitter.  It is easy to throw my hands up and walk away.  God challenges us to ABIDE IN HIS LOVE.  And scripture continues to tell us that if we say we have love, but do not demonstrate that love, we are liars.  If I am going to abide in God’s love, I need the Spirit’s help to let that love radiate from me and fall on those around me.  That is my challenge this week and beyond.  Listen for the promptings of the Spirit so that God may be glorified and the gift of Salvation through Jesus Christ may be seen in me.

 

Let’s go back to those “Give in” feelings.  As suggested in the P31OBS Blog, I did a topical study on one of the lies Satan likes to whisper (and yell) to me. “I am not good enough, or worthy enough.”  “I am weak and incapable.”  This is what Satan likes to “remind” me of almost daily.  He has been doing this for decades now.  And the truth that sets me free from this lie is one I did not start to grasp until the last 7 years.  And God still teaches it to me.  I can be quite stubborn sometimes… 🙂

But let’s break this down.  I did a topic-search to find scripture about “not being good enough” and here is a glimpse of what I found:

2 Corinthians 3:5 says, “Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God…”

John 15:5 “I am the vine, you are the branches.  Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”

Ephesians 2:8-9 “For by grace you have been saved through faith.  And it is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works so that no one may boast.”

Continuing into Ephesians 2:10 “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”

Isaiah 43:3 “For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.  I give Egypt as your ransom, Cush and Sheba in exchange for you.”

1 Peter 2:9 “But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.”

So hear is what I am continuously learning:  It is ok to not be good enough, as compared the standards of this world.  Life is not about what I can achieve myself, because that gains me nothing.  It cannot gain me the love of my God.  It cannot gain me entrance into heaven.  God alone is the one who equips me, who works through me, who gives me my value and worth.  Nothing apart from Him can define me or transform me.  Why is this ok?  Look at Isaiah 43:4 again:  God bought me.  The Creator of this vast universe, the Author of life, looked at me, saw that His Creation is GOOD, and He purchased me!  He sent Jesus Christ, His perfect Son, to this earth to pay the ultimate price for my soul so that I can spend eternity in heaven with Him.  There is nothing I did to earn that love.  Seriously, I am a sinful, broken person.  I make mistakes all the time!  And yet, Jesus came for me.  Do you know how powerful it is to feel so worthless for so long, to have let people walk all over you, and then to all of a sudden realize how treasured you really are???  I still start crying every time I think of the depth of that truth!

I am never going to stop striving, as tempting as it is some days.  Just because I found my value in God does not mean I am going to now float through this life.  No.  It means that because I feel so loved by Him, I want to show others that same love!  This is where my purpose comes from.  This is now what drives me:  Christ living (and loving) through me.

Romans 8:39 is a good place to conclude:  “For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all of creation, will be able to separate us form the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Nothing.  Once Christ, always Christ.  We are His, and He is ours.  Amen and amen!

Leave a Reply

