Praying for Joe…

Lord God, You are sovereign!  In ALL things, I KNOW You are sovereign!  You have taught me that so many times over the last 20+ years.  And I know You are the Great Physician, our Provider, our Supplier of knowledge and wisdom.  You teach us to cast our cares before You, to trust You with our desires.

And sometimes You answer our prayers, just as we have prayed them.  Other times, You answer them with a firm “No.” And still other times, You answer with, “Not yet.”

I prayed for my sister, for her to be near you, held by you, saved by you.  In my mind, that meant, “KEEP HER HERE, LORD!”  And You did save her, You do hold her even now, in eternity, with You, because of what Jesus Christ did on the cross over two thousand years ago.

I prayed for Jodeen.  I prayed for Sam.  I prayed for Uncle Bob.  You have taken all three to be with You for eternity.

I have prayed for healing from this chronic illness, this thorn in my flesh.  And You have said, “My grace is sufficient.”

And still, I come before You, and plead for Joe.  Because I know You can.  I know You might not, yet I know YOU CAN.  The possibility, the hope is there that YOU CAN heal.  You can grant wisdom to His earthly physicians.  You have done it once for Him, and I know You can do it again.

Will You?  Is it in Your plan for Joe to keep living this side of heaven?  I pray so!  My heart desires it to be so!

Yet, You are sovereign.  As Jesus prayed, I pray: “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.” (Matt 26:39)  I ask, Lord, for this cup to pass from Joe.  If it is possible, within Your sovereign plan, let this cup pass.  Heal Joe’s heart.  Heal his family.  Be glorified through this healing!

Above all, God, BE GLORIFIED.  In Your sovereignty, BE GLORIFIED.  In my desired outcome, BE GLORIFIED.  In my not-desired-outcome, BE GLORIFIED.

God, I know the possibility is there that You might not heal.  And I ask anyway.  I cast this before You, and trust in Your Sovereignty.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

